For Your Information

Minister of Foreign Affairs Establishes Indo-Pacific Advisory Committee

Canadian warships participate in U.S.-led war exercises in the Asia-Pacific, October 2021.

On June 9, the Minister of Foreign Affairs announced the creation of yet another advisory committee, which are used to bypass Parliamentary committees whose hearings are supposed to be available to the public and accountable to the House of Commons.

The government says this one, called the "Indo-Pacific Advisory Committee," will provide "independent perspectives and recommendations on Canada's Indo-Pacific strategy." The fact is that Canada is already in lockstep with U.S. brinkmanship and actions targeting China and engaging in dangerous military exercises which are provoking China.

Co-chairs of the committee are Janice Gross Stein, founding director of the Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy at the University of Toronto; Pierre Pettigrew, Executive Advisor, International, at Deloitte Canada and the Government of Canada Special Envoy for the Canada-European Union Trade Agreement; and Farah Mohamed, founder, and Chief Executive Officer of G(irls)20, senior vice president of the Toronto Board of Trade, and member of the Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation.

Members of the advisory committee have similar credentials, proving services rendered to the Liberal party or as point people of the state.

Frank McKenna: deputy director of the Toronto-Dominion Bank; Canadian ambassador to the United States from 2005 to 2006; Liberal premier of New Brunswick from 1987 to 1997.

Hassan Yussuff: senator from Ontario; former president of the Canadian Labour Congress; appointed in 2017 to the government's NAFTA council advising the Trudeau government during negotiations with the U.S. and Mexico.

Rona Ambrose: former Conservative cabinet minister in the Harper government; interim leader of the Conservative Party from 2015 to 2017; visiting fellow at Canada Institute, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in Washington, DC focused on Canadian-American trade.

Dominic Barton: global managing director for McKinsey and Company until 2018; from 2018 to 2019 Chairman of Teck Resources Ltd.; Canadian ambassador to the People's Republic of China from 2019 until December 2021; currently chairman of Rio Tinto; and chairman of the management board of Leapfrog Investments.

Jonathan Hausman: head of the global investment strategy team of the Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan; chair of the Canadian Council for the Americas; senior fellow at the Munk School of Global Affairs at the University of Toronto; former special assistant to the Premier of Ontario, former director of Goldman Sachs.

Odette McCarthy: executive director of Equitas, a Canadian organization that "advances equality, social justice and respect for human dignity through transformative human rights education programs in Canada and around the world"; member of the board of directors of the Canadian Council for International Cooperation.

Darren Touch: Schwarzman fellow at Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars' Kissinger Institute on China and the United States and the Canada Institute.

Tabatha Bull: Anishinaabe, member of Nipissing First Nation, president and chief executive officer of the Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business; member of several boards including C.D. Howe Institute's Energy Policy program, Catalyst chief executive officer's advisory board; Canadian National Railway's Indigenous advisory council.

Salim Teja: partner with Radical Ventures, a venture capital firm with a focus on artificial intelligence.

Tammy Harris: retired major-general Canadian Armed Forces; member of the Halifax Security Forum board of directors.

Kasi Rao: managing director of Fairfax Consulting Services India Ltd., focussed on investment opportunities in India; former president and chief executive officer of Canada-India Business Council; previously president and chief executive officer in private and public sectors including BMO Financial Group, University of Toronto and the offices of the Premier of Ontario.

This article was published in
Volume 52 Number 7 - July 17, 2022

Article Link:


Website:   Email: